Are Streetvibes Distributors Being Stereotyped?

By Lee McCoy

I truly wonder if this is a trend across America, or just in Cincinnati. Well, at the present time, I do not have the luxury to find out if this is true or not, but you wouldn’t believe the things a Streetvibes distributor has to go through to make an honest dollar. I don’t mind if you don’t buy the paper, that’s your choice, nor will I chase you down. Anyway, this is not what this article is about.

The main reason for this article is I think that my rights were violated. Last time I checked, I have the right to pursue a chance to make a living, especially when you are doing something that is legal. The Constitution of the United States of America says I have the right of freedom of speech. Oh what was I thinking? I live in Cincinnati, but one thing is for sure in Cincinnati, I have the right to be heard in a court of law.

Let me run down the facts of this article. September 21, 2012, I am right by the Senate, as is my customary spot for the better part of a year. If you are a panhandler I will run you away from there. I work very hard to establish a repoire with my customers.

This night, there were two panhandlers who were not listening to what I had to say. So the hostess happened to look out the door, and I pointed out the two who were actually begging at the ATM machine. She went back in and called the police.

These guys were very aggressive when the police came and asked them to leave. They left, and this Sargent turned around and tells me he thinks it’s only fair that he asks me to leave also. I tried to explain that I am a distributor of Streetvibes. I also explained that I am far enough away from the ATM, and I wasn’t even there messing with people. Hell, I even have had a conversation with a few other officers about this and that and my conduct has never come up; but lets get back to this Sargent and myself.

So I started to walk another 10 to 15 feet and turned around and I asked this Sargent, “am I far enough away now?” By the time I ask this question, up pops another patrol car with a police officer and who knows what his sidekick was. He wasn’t in uniform so I am going to say that he was probably a Cadet, maybe even a citizen on patrol. Who knows?

Being surrounded by 3 I think it’s only a natural thing to be aware of who was doing what. So I turn this way and that way, so I can see and find out who is really listening to what I am saying. If you have had as many run in’s with the man (as I have), you have this radar when you know things are not going right. Mine was going off like it was over loaded.

Then I heard this Sargent say, “Oh you want to be an asshole? Arrest him, charge him with disorderly conduct.” Where on earth did this come from? It really didn’t bother me until I looked around, and all eyes were on us. I felt this small, that little. I was totally embarrassed by this action.

I guess once they had me inside of the patrol car, which sat there for a full 10 minutes, my anger came out. When I say anger I am not talking about acting out in any uncool way.

Me, myself, and I want to thank the people who actually had the time to stand there and watch this injustice. It has given me the strength to look forward to my court date.

Never before have I felt like fighting. Usually it’s ok that you got me. I’ll plead guilty or cop out to a lesser charge, but not this time. I’ll fight this all the way to hell if need be. I believe in what I am doing. The money isn’t that great it’s the people I meet that make what I do worthwhile.

