Learn to Flow

by E. Hayden

I stopped in at the store to get some lo mein noodles and chicken for $3.95. It’s okay on a budget; the kinda food that will fill you up. I had my eye on this table in the corner but by the time I got my food and turned around two young giggling girls were sitting there. The only table left was one with this older man who was blowing his nose in a napkin; his clothing was very ragged looking and I noticed that he had a sandwich in a napkin. So I asked three older men, who were in the middle of a conversation, if I could sit
down with them.

“Yes come on,” they replied.

As I sat there the men at the table were discussing how Cincinnati is behind other cities in growth. I said that Cincinnati has a slave mentality: a ‘we made it cross the river, is that good enough or what do we do now?’ mindset that generation after generation gap doesn’t improve beyond that.

“Where are you from?” one of the gentlemen asked me.

“Kentucky,” I replied.

He said, “you came from an environment that had good flow. You were made accountable and everything you did was working for you. You came to a place where people live in dark clouds, where people believe in oppression as an excuse for everything. The leaders here; all they do is talk, talk, with no action. Just keeping people soft, they stop believing in themselves. People are hurting people just to have something to prove how smart they are so they can be the one you look up too. They need to remember respect is not earned; give freely. They need to be improving on themselves with book education, not street education.

“There are too many free programs in Cincinnati for you learn how to use a computer, building houses and learning how to use a camera for television.”

He kept talking about learning to listen to my inner-self and to
be one with my inner-self.

“What is your inner-self?” I asked him.

“That’s your wisdom,” he explained, “some people say common sense. It’s from God. God gave everybody wisdom, but he also gave us free
will.”

As I listened I was thinking “honestly, since I left Kentucky, I feel like my inner-self has been slamming up against a wall for the last ten years I have lived in Cincinnati.”

“This is the secret to making it in Cincinnati,” he continued, “listen to me, and I am only going to tell you once okay? You have flow through ‘all oppression’ of all the distraction that’s in Ohio. When you see somebody that’s not quite right, you can’t let them stop your game (your flow). Stay on your goals. If you have to repeat your goals to yourself everyday, or write the down daily, to keep you going, do it. Pray every morning for peace for you and others around you to stay peaceful.”

“Thank you,” I said, “I will work on my flow.”

