Letter To The Editor

To the editor:

I was shocked recently on a Sunday in July after coming back from a Poor People’s Conference in Louisville and needing an emergency bathroom stop because of a stomach virus. My friend John drove me to the Drop Inn Center after getting back to Cincinnati, and a staff person that afternoon refused to allow me to use the bathroom at the Drop.

I barely made it to the White castle on Central Parkway to use their bathroom, and thanks to John. I am in complete support that agencies and businesses should allow people to use the bathroom with dignity. Right on, Lynne Ausman! (See “Justice, Toilets and Bill Cunningham,” issue of Aug. 1-14.)

A Former Homeless Person in Cincinnati

(Editor’s note: The Drop Inn Center now requires all non-resident visitors to show identification. This could explain the writer’s difficulty during his visit.)

